You are here

NC Senate District 13

NC Senate Districts

Jane W. Smith (Dem)
Dem Performance Avg 2012 Dem Presidential Performance Avg 2008 & 2012 Dem Governor Performance Avg 2008 & 2012
26.20 7.02 26.38

District Map

NC Senate District 13

Non-candidate people relevant to this district

Below is a list of people affiliated with this district who are not presently running to represent it.
Bernard White Ran and Lost in 2014


State Sen. Michael Walters will not seek re-election to his District 13 seat, which encompasses Robeson and Columbus counties.

“This was a difficult decision as I have sincerely enjoyed representing the citizens of Robeson, Columbus, and Hoke counties and fighting for the legislation that is important to them,” Walters said in a statement released this morning. “I value the friendships I have made during this time, and have the greatest respect for the dreams and aspirations of my fellow citizens.”

When he finishes out the remaining year on his current two-year term, Walters, a Democrat, will have served in the Senate five years. He was appointed in 2009 by former Gov. Beverly Perdue to replace Sen. David Weinstein, who gave up his Senate seat to head the Governor’s Highway Safety Program,. Walters, the president of Claybourn Walters Logging Company, which is involved in agriculture, timber and real estate development, was then elected to two-year terms in both 2010 and 2012.

At the time of his appointment in 2009, District 13 included Robeson and Hoke counties.